Meet the Board old

Rick Nogal, President


Richard Nogal joined the School Board in 2011. He served as a community volunteer on the Student Services Committee for four years prior to being elected to the School Board. He also served on the Palos Community Consolidated Board of Education (District 118) from 2003 until 2011, including two years as President. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors at Palos Community Hospital from 2000 to 2010. He is a business litigation attorney with Goldstine, Skrodzki, Russian, Nemec and Hoff, Ltd.

Patrick O'Sullivan, Vice President


Patrick O'Sullivan was elected to the School Board in 2007. He has served as President of the Board and Chairperson of the Building and Finance Committee. In addition to serving on the School Board, he is active as a coach in Orland community youth athletics. He is a graduate of Carl Sandburg High School and Bradley University. He is the President of PRO Insurance Services, Inc.


Kathy Quilty, Secretary


Kathy Quilty has served on the District 230 School Board since 2003. She has held several leadership positions including Secretary for 6 years and Student Services Committee Chairperson for 8 years. She also has served on the Education Committee and Contract Negotiations Team. Kathy is an active volunteer with the Carl Sandburg Athletic Boosters and the Chicago Fire Junior South Soccer Club. She is employed as a Human Resources Specialist for Smith Senior Living.

Susan Dalton


Susan Dalton was elected to the School Board in 2013. She joined the board because of her interest in public education and is inspired by the student body. She has served as Recording Secretary for Sandburg's PFSA and as a member of the school's Parent School Improvement Committee. She was involved with District 135's PFE for many years. She is a graduate of Sandburg and Moraine Valley Community College. She is employed at Diamond Pool and Spa, Inc. as an office administrator and human resources coordinator.

Melissa Gracias


Melissa Gracias was elected to the School Board in 2013. She has served the District 230 community as a volunteer for several years. Most recently as Chair of the Senior Party and as a Music Booster. Melissa is active in School District 118, as well. She is Past President of the PFA and has chaired several committees. She is also a member of the District 118 Educational Foundation and Secretary of the Palos Park Police Foundation.

Tony Serratore


Tony Serratore was elected to the School Board in 2013. Prior to joining the Board he served for five years as a community representative on the District's Building and Finance Committee. He was also a Board member of the Andrew Music Parent's Association. He graduated from Brother Rice High School, received a Bachelor's degree from St. Mary's University and an MBA from DePaul University. He is currently the Contoller at Beverly Bank.

Kate Murphy-Peterson


Kate Murphy-Peterson was elected to the School Board in 2013. She was previously a member of the school board from 2005-2009 where she served on the Education Committee and was the district’s SCOPE representative.  She is a graduate of Queen of Peace High School and received a Bachelor’s Degree from Illinois State University.  She is employed at Loyola University Chicago.

Contacting the Board

Correspondance to the School Board will be made available to all seven Board members. 


School Board Touchstone

The following touchstone was agreed upon by the School Board in an effort to conduct the business of the district in a manner that respects the needs of all students, staff, parents and community members.

As School Board members of Consolidated High School District 230, we model the Core Values through Thought - Meaning - Action by:

  • Recognizing, utilizing and respecting the diverse talents of all board members;
  • Modeling ethical leadership in deliberating and goal-setting;
  • Utilizing data-driven decision-making for continuous improvement that maximizes student and staff potential; and
  • Maintaining the high standards of the district through accountability, transparency and support to fellow Board members, students, staff and community.
close (X)